Sliceable, Grateable, Meltable Mozzarella Cashew Cheese!


title 2

Ingredients (makes one block of cheese):

  • 1 Cup water
  • 1 Cup non-dairy milk
  • 1 Cup raw cashews, just covered in a bowl of water and soaked for at least 4 hours (then drain)
  • 1/4 Cup nutritional yeast
  • 3 Tablespoons tahini
  • 4 teaspoons agar agar powder
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • Optional: 1 teaspoon liquid smoke

Directions:

  1. In a medium sauce pan on medium-high heat, bring your water, non-dairy milk, agar agar, and coconut oil to a boil.  Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 8-10 minutes, continuously whisking.
  2. In your blender add your drained soaked cashews, nutritional yeast, tahini, sea salt, rice vinegar, garlic powder, and blend until the cashews start to break up.  Slowly pour your agar agar mixture into your blender and blend until smooth and creamy.
  3. Grease your cheese container (I used saran wrap and greased it then placed it in my glass dish, to be sure my cheese had a fool-proof exit strategy).  Carefully pour your cheese mixture into your dish and pop it in the fridge for at least 4-6 hours (I left mine in overnight).  P1130010s P1130012s P1130017s
  4. I topped my finished cheese with freshly cracked pepper.  Serve over crackers, with fresh tomatoes and pesto, grate & melt on your favorite meals, the possibilities are now endless!
  5. Enjoy eating whole!P1130032s P1130043s P1130048s P1130053s P1130076s P1130091s

What’s a gal to do when she’s out of vegan gluten-free bread but just HAS to test out her homemade cheese?  Um, well, we make a grilled cheese out of waffles!  Mmm just look at that gooey melted cheese!grilled cheese tomato soup (2)

24 thoughts on “Sliceable, Grateable, Meltable Mozzarella Cashew Cheese!

  1. Pingback: I know it’s cheesy, but here is a grate collection of my cheese recipes! | Eating Whole

  2. Pingback: 2013-12-06 Fabulous Friday Finds | surviving the food allergy apocalypse

  3. Pingback: Homeade Ravioli with Spinach & Sun-Dried Tomato Filling | Eating Whole

  4. Pingback: Lasagna Cups | Eating Whole

  5. Pingback: Perfect Sweet Potato Au Gratin: Vegainzed! | Eating Whole

  6. Pingback: Sweet Potato Scallop Stacks | Eating Whole

  7. Hello! Great recipe, thanks for sharing! Have you tried freezing it before? I’m the only vegan in the house so I don’t know that I’d use it fast enough! Also, what size pan do you set it in?
    Thanks!

    • Hi Ahliah! I have tried to freeze it – I wasn’t 100% happy as the consistency did change when eaten raw, but it still melted great! You can always cut the recipe in half 😀 .

  8. Hi! Thanks for the recipe. It looks so good. I can’t have rice. What would be a good substitute for rice vinegar? Thank you! 🙂

    • You can use white wine vinegar or apple cider vinegar in replace! ☺️ rice vinegar is one of the mildest vinegars. Traditionally I substitute 1 Tablespoon rice vinegar with 1 Tablespoon white wine vinegar with 1/4 teaspoon sugar. As this recipe calls for 1 teaspoon of rice vinegar you can omit the addition of sugar!

  9. This cashew cheese was a huge hit at our monthly vegan potluck. I changed it up a little by using my spring form instead of a dish. I coated it just a little with coconut oil and sprinkled freshly cracked pepper and herbs. Then I poured the mixture in, weighted it down with a stainless steel cake pan and a large jar of water, and put it in the refrigerator over night.

    For the potluck dish, I cubed the cheese and mixed it with (quartered) cherry tomatoes & fresh basil, finishing it off with a bit of olive oil & fresh-ground garlic salt. No leftovers!

Questions? Comments? :)